Stanford in the Vale
in the Vale is a large attractive village thought to be named after a stone ford
in the area. This may have been a crossing of the River
Ock where the bridge now spans the river before Stanford
Mill, however it could equally have been a crossing of
the centre of the village is an attractive village green
with the Church of St. Denys on the western edge and picturesque
old cottages, the manor house and one of the village pubs
on the others. On the green there are many lime trees
which were planted to celebrate Queen Victoria's Diamond
Jubilee in 1897. The Manor House was once occupied by
Anne Neville, daughter of the Earl of Warwick and the
south porch of the church was built to mark her marriage
to the Duke of Gloucester, later Richard III.
Church of St. Denys is named after the patron saint of
France and was founded in about the year 939. There was
some major reconstruction in the late 13th century and
further additions to the building made in the 14th and
15th centuries. The present external appearance of the
church is substantially how it would have been in the
16th century, by which time a steeple had fallen or been
was once a farming community and had eight farms and milk
was sent to London every day by train from Challow station.
At one time there were two flour mills, two smithies,
a brickmaking yard, a wheelwright's yard and two sets
of threshing tackle and a carpenter.
in the Vale lies just
off the A417 about four
miles from Faringdon and six from Wantage.