The attractive little village of Lower Heyford is on the Oxford Canal and also on the Oxford to Banbury railway line, and is fortunate in still having a station.
The village has an interesting mixture of stone cottages, some of which are thatched. In the centre of the village is a small square, Market Square, from which a lane leads towards the parish church. The main street in the village is the unusually named Freehold Street and this runs down the hill towards the canal and the River Cherwell in the bottom of the valley.
The canal used to be of considerable importance to the village and the picturesque Heyford Wharf is still a proper working boatyard. Inevitably when the railway was built canal trade began to slow down.
Although there has been a bridge over the River Cherwell since at least 1255, the present Lower Heyford Bridge is thought to date from 14th century, although it was altered in the 17th century and widened in the 19th century.
St Mary's Church was originally consecrated in 1065 however the current building dates from its rebuilding around 1350. There was substantial alteration in the 15th century and modernisation in the 19th century.
Lower Heyford is about 6 miles west of Bicester on the B4030.